Get the Season Started With a Laurie Berkner Christmas

curved section

“The undisputed queen of kindie rock.” – USA Today

Best-selling, award-winning children’s recording artist Laurie Berkner will kick off the 2012 holiday season with the release of her first-ever Christmas album, A Laurie Berkner Christmas (Two Tomatoes Records/Razor & Tie) October 30th. The album features traditional holiday and seasonal songs as well as three original tracks: “Santa’s Coming To My House Tonight,” “Candy Cane Jane” and “Christmas Lights.”

Laurie is joined by bandmates Susie Lampert (keyboards), Adam Bernstein (bass) and Bob Golden (drums, percussion) as well as other talented musicians including acclaimed recording artists Brady Rymer and Elizabeth Mitchell.

Says Laurie, “Christmas has always been one of my favorite holidays. I have actually wanted to make this album for a long time, as so many of my memories of being a kid at Christmastime center around music! All of the songs I chose for this recording remind me of those family times when we shared a lot of playfulness and love through music. Now that I have my own family, we sing carols together every year. While there are many holidays that we celebrate, I still get a little thrill when I see the lights go up and we sing our first Christmas song of the season together.”

Laurie recorded an original song for Hanukkah especially for fans who celebrate that holiday. “Candle Chase” will also be available for download on iTunes October 30th.

The Laurie Berkner Band has received tremendous critical acclaim. Entertainment Weekly proclaimed “Her voice is so rich, so textured, so full of flavor . . . you can almost see and taste everything as she delivers it.” Parenting Magazine dubbed her “The Pied Piper of preschool” while Time Magazine lauded Laurie as “A kind of sippy-cup Sheryl Crow.”

A former preschool music teacher by day and indie rocker by night, Laurie Berkner started selling her music over ten years ago out of her living room on her own label, Two Tomatoes Records. Laurie was the first artist to ever appear in music videos on Nick Jr., Nickelodeon’s 24-hour educational, commercial-free preschool network, and is featured in nearly all of the episodes of the channel’s Jack’s Big Music Show.

A Laurie Berkner Christmas Track Listing

  1. Jingle Bells
  2. Santa’s Coming To My House Tonight
  3. Little Drummer Boy
  4. I Saw Three Ships
  5. Candy Cane Jane
  6. Do You Hear What I Hear?
  7. Children Go Where I Send Thee (featuring Brady Rymer)
  8. Silent Night (featuring Elizabeth Mitchell)
  9. Christmas Lights
  10. Christmas Is Coming
  11. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer
  12. Jolly Old St. Nicholas
  13. Frosty The Snowman
  14. White Christmas
  15. We Wish You A Merry Christmas